- Offices and Departments
- Sheriff’s Office
- Firearms and Weapons
- Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons Information
Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons Information
Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons Applications
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) regarding weapons permit law changes in 2017.
This FAQ provides answers to common questions about law changes enacted in 2017, and the process of transition from prior law to new law.
How to obtain a weapons permit:
For a concealed weapons permit, you may submit an application online at:
ONLINE PERMIT TO CARRY
*Please note that the online permit to carry website uses the following browsers: IE 9 or higher, Firefox, Safari or Chrome and the online option is not available for the permit to acquire application.
A kiosk is available for permit applications between 8:00AM and 4:00PM, Monday thru Thursday in the lobby of the Story County Sheriff's Office (permit to acquire applications must be submitted in person).
Training for New Permit Application, Iowa Code 724.9
Effective July 1,2017, training documents must be dated within two years of the date of application. Those who have served in the military who provide a copy of their DD-214 training documents are an exception to this.
The Code lists five options to fulfill training documentation:
- Completion of any NRA handgun safety training course, or
- Completion of any handgun safety training course available to the general public offered by a law enforcement agency, community college, college, private or public institution or organization, or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the National Rifle Association or certain other firearms training certifying bodies (such as the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy), or
- Completion of any handgun safety training course offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement or security enforcement agency approved by the Iowa Department of Public Safety, or
- Completion of small arms training while serving with the armed forces of the United States as evidenced by any of the following:
- For personnel released or retired from active duty, possession of an honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions. This can also be shown with a Form DD-214.
- For personnel on active duty or serving in one of the national guard or reserve components of the armed forces of the United States, possession of a certificate of completion of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and qualification, or
- Completion of a law enforcement agency firearms training course that qualifies a peace officer to carry a firearm in the normal course of the peace officer’s duties.
Training for Renewal Permit Application, Iowa Code 724.11(1)
Effective July 1, 2017, there is a 60 day renewal window. A person wishing to renew a Permit to Carry Weapons must apply within 30 days before the permit expires, or within 30 days after the permit expires, otherwise the higher NEW permit fee must be charged.
A person who holds (or held) a permit issued on or after 1/1/2011 is not required to complete another training course to renew or obtain a new permit to carry weapons.
Acceptable Documentation for Training
- Photocopy of a certificate of completion or any similar document indicating completion of any course or class identified in Iowa Code 724.9 or,
- Affidavit from the instructor, school, organization, or group that conducted or taught a course or class identified in Iowa Code 724.9 attesting to the completion of the course or class by the applicant or,
- Photocopy of DD Form 214 or other documentation showing honorable or general discharge under honorable conditions from military service.
Definition of "new application" and "renewal application"
"New application" means an application for an Iowa professional permit to carry weapons filed when the applicant does not currently hold an Iowa permit to carry weapons OR when the applicant does not file the application at least thirty days prior or after the expiration of a currently held Iowa permit to carry weapons.
"Renewal application" means an application for an Iowa professional permit to carry weapons filed at least thirty days prior or after the expiration of a currently held permit to carry weapons.
If a current permit holder fails to file a renewal application within the specified time frame, then the application is considered to be a new permit application. At that point, fee requirements for a new permit application apply.
Follow us on