No. Story County Treasurer’s Office does NOT provide Driver’s License services. Customer will need to contact Iowa DOT Driver’s License station located in Ames. Phone: 515.296.2393
Show All Answers
The new owner has 30 days to present the properly assigned title to his/her county treasurer so that a title can be issued in the new owner’s name. Penalties will apply after 30 days.
This includes purchasing, dropping or adding a name to a vehicle or a vehicle is gifted to you, etc.
The vehicle is not to be used on Iowa roadways. Penalties will be applied. If you have credit from a vehicle you sold, you will still be able to get that credit as long as it is within six months from date of sale of that vehicle.
Story County Treasurer's Office highly suggests that you do not wait until the last day to transfer the vehicle. If additional information is needed and you are sent away penalty will still begin 30 days after the date of sale.
For a large Iowa Standard Number License plate, place the Registration Renewal Sticker in the bottom, left corner of the rear license plate. If there is a sticker already on the license plate from a previous renewal, place the new sticker on top of the previous year's sticker. See diagram below:
For a small motorcycle/small regular trailer, place the Registration Renewal Sticker in the top, left corner of the rear license plate. If there is a sticker already on the license plate from a previous renewal, place the new sticker on top of the previous year's sticker. See diagram below:
For any DNR license plates (Goldfinch, Deer, Eagle, Pheasant, or Trout), place the sticker in the bottom, right corner of the rear license plate. If there is a sticker already on the license plate from a previous renewal, place the new sticker on top of the previous year's sticker. See diagram below:
Previous years stickers can be removed and disposed of. Be sure the current year sticker is going to adhere to the plate.
In August 2017, anew plate design was voted on at the Iowa State Fair (See Below). The previousplate design will be issued until individual county treasurers deplete theirexisting inventory. Contact your local treasurer prior to ordering to see ifthe new design below is available in your area. Plates such as collegiate, DNR,and government designs will not change.
Residentswill not be issued a no cost plate with the new design until the 10-yearreplacement cycle. If a resident would like to update to the new design it will cost $5.00 and the old set of plates will need to be returned to your local county treasurer’s office.
The name connector "and" means that both owners that are listed on the vehicle title will have to sign as sellers when the vehicle is sold. The name connector "or" means that only one of the owners that are listed on the face of the vehicle title will have to sign as seller when the vehicle is sold.
When applying for a replacement title both owners are required to sign the application regardless of the connector of "and" or "or".
Iowa does not issue a title for a trailer that weighs under 2000 pounds. The ownership document is the registration, and you may sign it over to a new owner by completing the bottom of the registration where it says: Date of Sale, Purchaser, Address, and Signature of Seller.
Complete form Application for Replacement of Iowa Certificate of Title to a Motor Vehicle (Form 411033). The application must be signed by all owners. If there is an open lien on the vehicle, the application will need to be signed by the lien holder.
If there is an open lien on the title, but the lien holder does not have an interest in the vehicle any longer, they may complete a separate notarized Cancellation of Security Interest (Form 411168). A letter from the security interest holder on their letterhead paper is acceptable if it has the following information: make, year, VIN, owners name(s) and address, and the letter must be notarized.
Once the application is received either in person or by mail there is a mandatory 5-day waiting period before the replacement title is issued. The fee for a replacement title is $25.00.
We accept cash, checks (out-of-state is acceptable), money orders, cashiers’ checks, and bank drafts. Debit Card transactions with a non-refundable $2.00 service delivery fee. We also accept credit cards (Master Card, Discover, and Visa) with a non-refundable 2.25% service delivery fee. Online E-Check is accepted with a non-refundable $0.25 service delivery fee.
Service Delivery fees are not set or retained by the county and are non-negotiable.
$20.00 Service fee assessed on any Returned Payments.
In order to store the vehicle/plates legally, the vehicle must currently be registered. The plates and the current registration need to be surrendered at the County Treasurer’s Office so that the State Motor Vehicle System can be updated and the registration stamped "STORED". Once the plates have been surrendered and registration marked you will not be required to pay the yearly registration fees. This also means the vehicle cannot be driven on the roadway at any point. Storage of a vehicle for less than 13 months is not suggested as one full year registration is paid no matter how long the vehicle has been stored.
To pull the vehicle out of Storage you will need to stop in your county treasurer's office and one full year registration fee will be collected. New plates and registration will be issued at the time of payment.
Storage of a vehicle does not work for driver's license reinstatement programs.
One month prior to your renewal month, your renewal month, or the month following to renew without penalty. When the last day of the month that a vehicle registration is due falls on a Saturday, Sunday or a holiday, the payment deadline is extended to include the first business day of the following month.
Penalty is assessed at a rate of 5% of the fee due, per vehicle, per month with a $5.00 per vehicle minimum.