USDA Disaster Assistance

The U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue designated 18 Iowa counties, including Story County, as primary natural disaster areas, enabling producers who suffered losses because of the recent Derecho, that occurred on August 10, 2020, to be eligible for emergency loans. Farmers have 8 months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. 

These natural disaster designations allow the Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs, including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or refinancing of certain debts. 

USDA Emergency Loans