City/School Election

November 7, 2023 - City/School Election

Recent Election Law Changes

Election Day Information

Polling Times: 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Polling Locations

Unofficial Results

Unofficial results will be posted here on election night once polls have closed and results have been tabulated.  Results will be official following the canvass.

Statement of Votes Cast(SOVC)    |    Summary   |    Write-In Winners (cities)   |    Write-In Winners (schools)


11AM    |    3PM    |    7PM    |    Final

Candidate Information

Candidate List - NOTE: for this list ONLY, candidates will be listed alphabetically. On the ballot, the order of candidates is determined by drawn lots, pursuant to Code of Iowa §49.31(2)(d).

Sample Ballots

City of Ames

Ward 1:  Ames 1 | Ames 2 | Ames 3 (Ames CSD) (Gilbert CSD) (Nevada CSD) | Ames 4 | Ames 5 | Ames 6
Ward 2: Ames 7 | Ames 8 (Ames CSD) (Gilbert CSD) | Ames 9 | Ames 10 | Ames 11 | Ames 12 (Ames CSD) (Gilbert CSD)
Ward 3: Ames 13 | Ames 14 (Ames CSD) (United CSD) | Ames 15 | Ames 16 | Ames 17 | Ames 18
Ward 4: Ames 19 | Ames 20 | Ames 21 | Ames 22 | Ames 23 | Ames 24

Other Cities (includes respective school districts)

Cambridge | Collins | Colo | Gilbert | Huxley 1 | Huxley 2 | Kelley | Maxwell | McCallsburg
Nevada 1 | Nevada 2 | Nevada 3 | Nevada 4
Roland | Sheldahl | Slater | Story City 1 | Story City 2 | Zearing

Township Ballots (school district races ONLY)

Collins Township/Collins-Maxwell CSD | Collins Township/Colo-NESCO CSD | Collins Township/West Marshall CSD
Franklin Township/Ames CSD | Franklin Township/Gilbert CSD (#1 | #2) | Franklin Township/Nevada CSD | Franklin Township/United CSD
Grant Township/Ames CSD | Grant Township/Ballard CSD | Grant Township/Nevada CSD  (#1#2
Howard Township/Gilbert CSD | Howard Township/Roland-Story CSD  (#1#2
Indian Creek Township/Collins-Maxwell CSD
Lafayette Township/Gilbert CSD | Lafayette Township/Roland-Story CSD
Lincoln Township/Colo-NESCO CSD
Milford Township/Ames CSD | Milford Township/Gilbert CSD | Milford Township/Nevada CSD | Milford Township/Roland-Story CSD
Nevada Township/Colo-NESCO CSD | Nevada Township/Nevada CSD
New Albany Township/Collins-Maxwell CSD | New Albany Township/Colo-NESCO CSD | New Albany Township/West Marshall CSD
Palestine Township/Ballard CSD
Richland Township/Colo-NESCO CSD | Richland Township/Nevada CSD
Sherman Township/Colo-NESCO CSD
Union Township/Ballard CSD (#1 | #2)  | Union Township/Collins-Maxwell CSD | Union Township/Nevada CSD
Warren Township/Colo-NESCO CSD
Washington Township/Ames CSD (#1 | #2 | #3) | Washington Township/Ballard CSD | Washington Township/United CSD

Voter Registration

The voter pre-registration deadline is Monday, October 23, at 5 p.m. (Voter Registration Form)

Register online via the Iowa DOT (for voters with an Iowa driver's license or Iowa non-operator ID)
Download a paper version of the registration form (PDF)
Check your registration status (Iowa Secretary of State website)

New registrants after the deadline -- including on Election Day -- will follow Election Day Registration procedures. Proof of identity and proof of residence will be required.

Absentee Voting

Absentee Voting (in person)

Voting in the Auditor's Office begins Wednesday, Oct. 18, and will be available during regular business hours through Monday, Nov. 6.  Regular business hours in the Auditor's Office are 8 am - 4:30 pm.  On deadline dates, the office is open until 5 pm.

Absentee Voting (by mail)

The first day that ballots may be mailed is Wednesday, October 18. The last day to submit a request for a mailed ballot is Monday, October 23. The request must be received in the Auditor's Office by 5 p.m. that day. On the request form, mark "City/School" under type of election, or fill in the election date (11/07/2023) in the proper area.

Satellite Voting

Satellite absentee voting will be available on Saturday, November 4 at the Ames Public Library in the auditorium from 10 am to 4 pm.  All ballot styles for Story County will be available.

Satellite voting is in-person absentee voting at a location other than the Auditor's Office. Absentee voting rules apply. Satellite sites are called based upon valid citizen petition (petitions are for location only; date and hours determined by Auditor) and other stipulations, pursuant to Code of Iowa §53.11.

Returning Your Mailed Absentee Ballot

By Mail. A return envelope is provided with pre-paid postage.  All ballots must be received in the Auditor's Office by the close of polls on Election Day in order to be considered for counting.

In Person. You or a member of your household or immediate family may deliver your ballot to the Auditor's Office up until 8 p.m. on Election Day (Tuesday, Nov. 7). Completed ballots may not be dropped off or used at polling locations.

By Delivery Agent. Disabled voters ONLY may designate someone else to mail or deliver the voted ballot. The instructions included in your mailed absentee ballot packet include a receipt, if you choose to designate a delivery agent.

Absentee Forms and Information

Absentee Request Form - DOMESTIC voters
Absentee Voting Information (Iowa Secretary of State)
Track Your Absentee Ballot (Iowa Secretary of State)

Absentee Request Form - MILITARY or OVERSEAS voters
Federal Voting Assistance Program

Poll Watching

A poll watcher is a person who has official permission to be at the polling place on election day. Names of prospective poll watchers, along with the designation form, should be submitted to the County Auditor prior to election day.

Poll Watcher's Guide
Poll Watcher's Designation Form
Poll Watcher Poster

If you have questions regarding poll watching, please contact the Auditor's Office or the Iowa Secretary of State's Office.

Election Results

Unofficial results will be posted here on election night, after polls have closed and precincts have reported.  Results are unofficial until the the canvass. Write-in results by candidate are NOT available on election night. Results will be for Story County ONLY. School districts and cities which extend into other counties have a second tier canvass is to finalize the results from all jurisdictions. Write-in candidates who received 5% or more of the vote (or at least 10 votes) appear in the summary of the official results,