Special Election

September 8, 2020 - School Special Elections

Election Day Information

Polling times: 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Polling locations:  Vote centers will be used for this election. All voters for each school district are assigned to one location.
    •  Collins-Maxwell CSD Vote Center: Collins Area Community Center, 219 Main Street, Collins
    •  Nevada CSD Vote Center: 4-H Hall, ISU Extension Building, 220 H Avenue, Nevada
As of January 1, 2019, identification is required at the polling place. More information is available here.

Sample Ballots

Collins-Maxwell CSD | Nevada CSD

Voter Turnout

Turnout by location

Unofficial Results

Summary | By Precinct

Voter Registration

The voter pre-registration deadline is Friday, August 28, at 5 p.m. (Voter Registration Form)

Register online via the Iowa DOT (for voters with an Iowa driver’s license or Iowa non-operator ID)
Download a paper version of the registration form (PDF)
Check your registration status (Iowa Secretary of State website)

New registrants after the deadline -- including on Election Day -- will follow Election Day Registration procedures. Proof of identity and proof of residence will be required.

Absentee Voting

(1) Your absentee request form MUST include an ID number -- EITHER your Iowa driver’s license (or non-operator ID) number, OR the 4-digit PIN on the new voter ID card.
(2) Request forms will not be accepted more than 120 days prior to the election.
(3) Absentee voting can begin no more than 29 days prior to the election.
(4) The deadline to request a mailed ballot is 11 days prior to the election (10 days for a General election).
NOTE: The request must be received in the Auditor’s Office by 5 p.m. on the final day.

Absentee Voting (in-person)

August 24 - August 28 (M - F) and August 31 - September 4 (M - F) from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm daily in the Story County Administration Building.  Lobby open for voting ONLY. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, all Story County buildings are currently closed to the public. To limit physical contact, voters are encouraged to vote by mail.
As of July 1, 2020, identification is required of registered voters when casting an in-person absentee ballot.

Absentee Voting (by mail)

Requests may be received any time after May 11, 2020 (120 days prior to election).  The first day that ballots will be mailed is Monday, August 10. The last day to request a mailed ballot is Friday, August 28. The request must be received in the Auditor’s Office by 5 p.m. that day. On the request form, mark "Special" under type of election, and fill in the election date (09/08/2020) in the proper area.

Returning Your Mailed Absentee Ballot

By Mail. A return envelope is provided with pre-paid postage. The return envelope must be postmarked no later than Saturday, September 5 (Monday, September 7 is a federal holiday). Mailed ballots must arrive by post to the Auditor’s Office by Monday, September 14 to be considered for counting.

In Person. You may deliver your ballot to the ballot drop box at the Story County Administration Building until 8 p.m. on Election Day (Tuesday, September 8). Completed ballots may not be dropped off or used at polling locations.  

By Designee. You may designate someone else to mail or deliver your ballot for you. The instructions included in your mailed absentee ballot packet include a receipt, if you choose to use it, for this method.

Absentee Forms and Information

Absentee Request Form - DOMESTIC voters
Absentee Voting Information (Iowa Secretary of State)
Track Your Absentee Ballot (Iowa Secretary of State)

Absentee Request Form - MILITARY or OVERSEAS voters
Federal Voting Assistance Program

Poll Watching

A poll watcher is a person who has official permission to be at the polling place on election day. Names of prospective poll watchers, along with the designation form, should be submitted to the County Auditor prior to election day.

Poll Watcher’s Guide
Poll Watcher’s Designation Form
Poll Watcher Poster

If you have questions regarding poll watching, please contact the Auditor’s Office or the Iowa Secretary of State’s Office.