Click to Home
Go To Search
Story County Hazard Mitigation Plan
Story County Multi-Jurisdictional Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan
The Story County Multi-Jurisdictional Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan was prepared in response to the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (DMA200).  DMA 2000 requires local governments to prepare hazard mitigation plans in order to remain eligible to receive pre-disaster mitigation funds that are made available in the wake of federally-declared disasters.

Planning Process
Story County and all municipalities have developed and adopted this Multi-Jurisdictional Mitigation Plan. Following the adoption of this plan, it is the intent of the participating jurisdictions to continue work collaboratively to address data gaps and implement complementary and collective mitigation actions.

Communities which have adopted the plan are as follows: Ames, Cambridge, Collins, Colo, Gilbert, Huxley, Iowa State University, Kelley, Maxwell, McCallsburg, Nevada, Roland, Sheldahl, Slater, Story City, Zearing and unincorporated Story County.

2014 Story County Hazard Mitigation Plan   
(the document is large so please be patient as it downloads)