Click to Home
Go To Search
School Election
September 8, 2015 - School Election
Polling Times 
Ames polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. All other sites will be open from noon to 8 p.m.

Polling Locations
CLICK HERE for a list of polling locations.

Vote Centers will be used in the Ames, Collins-Maxwell, Colo-NESCO, and Roland-Story elections. When vote centers are used, any eligible voter in that jurisdiction may vote at any of the polling places. More about vote centers.

UNOFFICIAL RESULTS (available after the close of polls)
Summary | By Precinct

Voter Turnout Numbers
Updated throughout Election Day

Candidate Information
Candidate List

Iowa Secretary of State website (election calendar, candidate guide, affidavit of candidacy, and nomination petition)

Signature requirements for nomination petitions (The filing period is July 6-30. All papers must be filed with the respective school secretary.)

DMACC Board candidates must have a minimum of 50 signatures. Nomination papers are filed with the community college secretary.

Iowa Association of School Boards - School Board Elections information

List of current board members in Story County school districts and their term end dates.

School District Websites
Ames Community School District
Ballard Community School District
Collins-Maxwell Community School District
Colo-NESCO Community School District
Gilbert Community School District
Nevada Community School District
Roland-Story Community School District

Voter Registration
The deadline to register to vote is Friday, August 28, by 5 p.m. 

Voter Registration Form 
(Adobe Acrobat) 

As of January 1, 2008, Iowa law allows you to register to vote on Election Day at the polling place for the precinct where you currently reside. You will be required to show proof of residence and proof of identity.

Election Day Registration

Absentee Voting

Absentee Ballot Request Form

You may vote absentee either in person or by mail.

Voters may cast an in-person absentee ballot in the Auditor's Office during regular office hours (8 a.m. to 5 p.m.) prior to Election Day. On Election Day, the Auditor's Office will be open for voting from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m. for voters registered in the following school districts:
Ballard, Collins-Maxwell, Colo-NESCO, Gilbert, Nevada, Roland-Story.

The last day a voter can request a mailed absentee ballot is Friday, Sept. 4.

Ballots received in the mail can be returned by any of the following methods: 

By mail. A return envelope is provided with pre-paid postage. The postmark must be no later than Saturday, Sept. 5.

In person. You may deliver your ballot to the County Auditor's office up until 8 p.m. on Election Day (Sept. 8). 

By designee. You may designate someone else to mail or deliver your ballot for you. The instructions included in your mailed Absentee Ballot include a receipt, if you choose to use it, for this method.

Poll Watching
A poll watcher is a person who has official permission to be at the polling place on election day to observe the election process and to challenge voters that the poll watcher believes is not qualified to vote.

If you are interested in being a pollwatcher, please read the following Pollwatcher's Guide for further information.

The following forms require Adobe Acrobat Reader:

Poll Watcher's Guide
Poll Watcher's Brouchure
Poll Watcher's Designation Form (interactive form)

If you have any questions regarding poll watching, please call (515) 382-7217.  For additional information, visit the Secretary of State's website.