Click to Home
Go To Search
Emergency Release Notification
Section 304 Emergency Release Notification
The State of Iowa requires any person manufacturing, storing, handling, transporting, or disposing of a hazardous substance to notify the department and local law enforcement of the occurrence of a hazardous condition. The notification should be made as soon as possible but not later than six hours after the onset or discovery of the hazardous condition. Local law enforcement is also required by Iowa Code to report a "Hazardous Condition" to the department within 6 hours.

If the hazardous condition involves the release of an EPA regulated material or an oil as defined by the EPA, the release may also need to be reported to the National Response Center at (800) 424-8802. To assist in the reporting of a Hazardous Condition the department has put together a reporting guide. The State of Iowa also requires a written report of the incident be submitted to the department within 30 days of the incident. The department has created a 30-Day Written Report Form to assist in reporting.

Any facility who fails to notify the authorities of a release is subject to civil penalties of up to $25,000 per day. Offenders can be fined up to $75,000 per day. Criminal penalties for persons who knowingly & willfully fail to provide notice, face fines of up to $25,000 or up to 2 years in prison.

In a Hazardous Materials Incident, the Spiller is responsible for emergency notifications and cost recovery.

In a Hazardous Materials Incident, the Spiller is responsible for emergency notifications and cost recovery.

Notify Emergency Response Personnel first through 9-1-1

Notify the Department of Natural Resources at 515-725-8694

Notify the LEPC at 515.382.7315 or the local law enforcement agency involved

For more information from the Iowa DNR on spills and spill reporting follow this link: Iowa DNR Emergency Release Notification