Click to Home
Go To Search
Citizen Help Center
Conservation Board
The Story County Conservation Board meets the second Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at the Story County Conservation Center at McFarland Park (56461 180th St.), northeast of Ames. The public is encouraged to attend.

2017 meetings are:
  • January 9
  • February 13
  • March 13
  • April 10    
  • May 8    
  • June 5    
  • July 10
  • August 7    
  • September 11
  • October 9    
  • November 13
  • December 11

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are also available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All

The Conservation Board is composed of five volunteer members appointed by the county board of supervisors for five-year terms.
  • Craig Meyers, Nevada - Secretary         
  • Dr. Nancy Franz, Ames - Chair
  • Christine Laumer, Ames
  • Dr. James Pease, Ames - Vice Chair
  • Ted Tedesco, Ames   
  • Rick Sanders, Ames (ex-officio member)

8.10.15 SCCB photo on pergola swing.JPG


The conservation board is responsible for aspects of the conservation department's business such as acquiring and managing property for conservation and recreational purposes and for development of conservation and recreation programs in the county. The board hires and supervises a director to administer the program.

The conservation board approves yearly annual reports. View the last five years here: SCC Annual Reports. In 2012, the board worked with conservation staff to develop a strategic plan, which is critical in meeting the needs of Story County, its citizens, and our natural resources for generations to come. View plan here: SCC Strategic Plan.

The conservation board also selects the annual recipient of the Olav Smedal Award as part of a committee comprised of members from the Ames Chapter of the Izaak Walton League.