Click to Home
Go To Search
E911 Service Board
Enhanced 911 Emergency Telephone Communication System

Enhanced 911 (E911) Emergency Communication System in Story County was established in 1989 to provide a faster and more efficient response to emergency situations by establishing and providing for the operation and maintenance of an enhanced 911 emergency telephone communication system.
Service Area

The 911 service area covers all of Story County including: 
  • Story County, Iowa
  • Iowa State University
  • City of Ames
  • City of Cambridge
  • City of Collins
  • City of Colo
  • City of Gilbert
  • City of Huxley
  • City of Kelley
  • City of Maxwell
  • City of Nevada
  • City of Roland
  • City of Sheldahl
  • City of Slater
  • City of Story City
  • City of Zearing


The E911 Service Board is established in joint agreement, entered into by the political subdivisions located within the E911 service area of Story County. Voting membership shall consist of one member of each eligible subdivision having a Public Safety Agency serving Story County. The Service Board is currently in the process of creating bylaws as required by Iowa Code.

Chair: Paul H. Fitzgerald, Sheriff
Vice Chair: Charles Cychosz, Ames Police Chief