Click to Home
Go To Search
How do I obtain a permit to purchase?
You must appear in person to the Story County Sheriff's Office, located at:
1315 S. B Ave.
Nevada, IA 50201

You must be at least 21 years of age and a resident of Story County with a picture ID (i.e., an Iowa driver's license or Iowa ID card) reflecting a Story County address.

You will be required to complete the application for a Permit to Acquire form. The Sheriff's Office personnel will run the appropriate background checks. Upon successful completion of the background checks, a permit will be issued and post-dated three days from the date of application. There is a $10 fee.

Sheriff's Office

Show All Answers

1. What are the hours of the Story County Sheriff's Administration Office?
2. What days are weapons permits issued?
3. How do I obtain a permit to purchase?
4. What are the laws addressing carrying weapons for residences, business owners and land owners?
5. Can I carry a weapon in a motor home?
6. How do I obtain a permit to carry a concealed weapon?
7. How may I legally transport a weapon without a permit to carry weapons?
8. How do I get a copy of my driving record?
9. What does it cost to obtain a copy of an accident report?
10. How do I check to see if someone is a registered sex offender?
11. Where can I get information on Sheriff Sales?
12. If I am interested in bidding at a Sheriff Sale what do I need to do?