Planning & Zoning Commission


The Story County Planning and Zoning Commission consists of seven members appointed by the Board of Supervisors. All members of the Commission are residents of Story County with all members residing in the unincorporated portions of the county. Commission members are appointed to five-year terms.

The Planning and Zoning Commission meets monthly, on the first working Wednesday of each month. The Commission recommends actions on subdivision plats, amendments to the land use policies and regulations, and rezoning requests to the Board of Supervisors. All meetings of the Planning and Zoning Commission are open to the public.

Related Resources

Application for Appointment

Commission Responsibilities (PDF)

Organizational Policy/Rules of Procedure (PDF)

Commission Membership (five year terms):

Term Expires:
Cheryl Moss, Chair
Kathy Mens, Vice Chair
Wendie Schneider12/31/2023
Debbie Younkin12/31/2021
Ben Jensen12/31/2025
Ray Lee12/31/2023
Dalton Johnston12/31/2024


2021 Meeting Schedule (PDF); Call to order 4:00 PM

2nd floor of Administration Building ~ 900 Sixth St. ~ Nevada, IA 50201

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.

Most Recent Agenda (PDF) | View All

Minutes are available following approval.

Most Recent Minutes (PDF) | View All

Audio transcripts as available.

Most Recent Audio (MP3) | View All Audio